Using Vehicle Groups

Vehicle groups are used to organize your vehicles using classifications that make sense to your business. Groups allow you to easily filter the map, as well as reports and alerts, by isolating a subset of vehicles in your fleet.

Create a Vehicle Group

You can create any number of vehicle groups, and a vehicle can belong to more than one group.

To create a vehicle group:

  1. From the menu, click Vehicles.
  2. Click Groups.
  3. Click Create Group.
  4. Enter the group name, and click OK.
  5. Select the vehicles (i.e., group members) that belong to the group.
  6. Click Save.

You can edit and delete vehicle groups from the Group Card (click a group name to view options). The ALL VEHICLES is a system group that shows all vehicles in your account. You cannot edit or delete this group.

Filter/ Un-filter the Map by Vehicle Group

Filtering the map allows you to show only the members of a particular vehicle group, while temporarily hiding any vehicles that are not in group. You can filter by one group at a time.

To filter by group:

  1. From the Search Results tab or Groups tab, click the group you want to view.
  2. Click Filter.

The map adjusts to show only the members in the selected group. The hidden vehicles are still available to view and select from the Vehicles tab, but they will not appear on the map.

  1. When you’re ready to show all vehicles again, click the ALL VEHICLES group from the Groups tab, and click Filter.
  2. Click Filter.

Sharing / Un-sharing a Vehicle Group

Sharing a vehicle group gives you a public link to a map of vehicles that you can email or share (i.e., display on your company’s website for your customers to see). Groups that have been shared have a share indicator (0005).

To share a group:

  1. From the Search Results tab or Groups tab, click the group you want to view.
  2. Click Share.
  3. From the Share Group pop-out window, click OK.

A new browser tab opens, which shows the selected vehicles as they appear on a publicly available map. Use the URL in the Address Bar of your browser window to copy or share the link. You can access the URL at anytime by clicking the share indicator (0005) next to the group name.

  1. When you’re ready to disable the link, click group name.
  2. Click Unshare
  3. From the Unshare Group pop-out window, click OK.

Follow / Un-follow a Group

Following a vehicle group automatically centers the map around the selected vehicles as their locations update.

To follow a group:

  1. From the Search Results tab or Groups tab, click the group you want to view.
  2. Click Follow.

The map automatically centers around the selected vehicles to ensure they are all in view. The map continues to dynamically center as the vehicles update their locations.

Use the Following box in the upper, left of the map to remove (x) any of the group members from being followed. Also optionally hide other vehicles on the map as long as the Following feature is enabled.
0043

  1. When you’re ready to stop following the group, click the X in the upper, right corner of the Following box.