Transferring or Deactivating a Device

If you need to retire a vehicle and replace it with another one, you can transfer the device to the new vehicle. Alternatively, if you’re not replacing the vehicle or no longer need the vehicle in the fleet, you can deactivate the device or submit for a return authorization.

Historical data moves with a device. If you install a device in another vehicle under a different department, the new department users could see the old historical data on the new vehicle.

Transfer a Device

Transferring a device to another vehicle requires you to register the device to another vehicle immediately after making the selection to transfer.

To transfer the device to another vehicle:

  1. From the portal, hover over the Account menu, click Manage Vehicles, and click Open.

The Manage Vehicles and Groups page opens in a new browser tab.

  1. Locate the vehicle you want to modify, and click Delete ().
  2. In the Deactivate Vehicle window, choose the Transfer option, and click Continue.

  1. Enter the information for the new vehicle, and click Register Vehicle.

Deactivate a Device

Deactivating a device requires action from the Support team. The deactivation form in the portal automatically notifies Support of the request. Support will notify you when your deactivation request is complete. Please note that devices remain on the account until the end of the month. Request by the 26th of each month to avoid an additional month of billing.

If you need to uninstall a device and install it in a new vehicle during the SAME month, rather than deactivate, simply hide the vehicle’s visibility until you’re ready to transfer it to the new vehicle.

To deactivate a device:

  1. From the portal, hover over the Account menu, click Manage Vehicles, and click Open.

The Manage Vehicles and Groups page opens in a new browser tab.

  1. Locate the vehicle you want to modify, and click Delete ().
  2. In the Deactivate Vehicle window, choose the Deactivate option, and click Continue.

  1. Choose a Reason for Deactivation.
  2. Choose whether you own or rent the device.
  3. Click Deactivate Vehicle.

Your request is put in progress (as indicated by the grayed out trash icon on the vehicle). You’ll receive a confirmation email within a few business days when the deactivation has been complete. The device will no longer appear on maps or in reports.

To view historical data for a deactivated device:

  1. From the portal, hover over the Account menu, click Manage Vehicles, and click Open.

The Manage Vehicles and Groups page opens in a new browser tab.

  1. From the Filter area, select the Deactivated check box, and click Filter.
  2. From the list of deactivated vehicles, locate the vehicle you want to modify, and click Include in reports for 4 hours ().

The vehicle now appears in the Vehicle list when the “Deactivated” filter is removed. It will appear in reports for the next four hours or until you click the green icon () to expire the status.